Press Release: UFA Welcomes At-Large Board Members and Executive Committee

For Immediate Release: April 15, 2017
Contact: Jerry McCune, President  (907) 200-0240

UFA Welcomes At-Large Board Members and Executive Committee 

United Fishermen of Alaska is pleased to announce the election of Sue Aspelund, Rhonda Hubbard, Bruce Schactler, and Zachary Hill as at-large board members. UFA’s individual and lifetime members elect four at-large directors to represent the more than 450 individual, lifetime, and crew members on the organization’s board of directors. The at-large directors will serve two-year terms beginning April 15, 2017 and ending April 14, 2019 on the UFA Board of Directors. Also taking effect on April 15 are new executive committee members Tyson Fick and Sue Doherty.

UFA welcomes the return of Sue Aspelund, who is looking forward to her 24th salmon setnet season in Bristol Bay, and brings the experience from over a decade as Commercial Fisheries Policy Advisor and Deputy Director of Commercial Fisheries for Alaska Department of Fish and Game. She was previously executive director of Cordova District Fishermen United and represented the group on the UFA board in the early 2000s, including three years as UFA Statewide chair and two years as UFA Vice President.

Rhonda Hubbard fishes longline for halibut and sablefish and operates Kruzof Fisheries LLC, a catcher processor distribution company marketing their own catch directly to consumers and restaurants through their website at She and husband Jim were named UFA Fishermen of the Year in 2014.

Zach Hill, of Anchorage, fishes the Kodiak area salmon purse seine fishery; and previously fished salmon in Cook Inlet and Prince William Sound; and has fished herring all around the state. In addition to fishing, Mr. Hill is a CPA and member of North Pacific Fisheries Association in Homer, Seafood Harvesters of America, and the steering committee for the Alaska Young Fishermen’s Summit. Hill will continue his role on the executive committee as UFA Admin chair.

Bruce Schactler, of Kodiak, has fished salmon seining in Southeast and Kodiak, Tanner crab in Kodiak and Togiak, longlining for cod and halibut, and herring throughout the state. He also is the Director of the Alaska Global Food Aid Program with the Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute and National Director for the National Seafood Marketing Coalition. He co-authored the UFA Marketing Plan in 2001 which led to USDA Country of Origin Labeling (COOL) for seafood, USDA Trade Adjustment Assistance eligibility for fishermen, and inclusion of Alaska salmon and herring in food aid programs. Mr. Schactler has served as an at-large board member since 1993 and he received the 2013 UFA Fisherman of the Year award, and will continue in his role on the executive committee as UFA Marketing chair.

The UFA Executive committee was elected at the spring meeting in February and at-large directors were elected by the individual members in March, with all seats taking effect on April 15. Other new Executive Committee members include PR& Membership Chair Tyson Fick of Alaska Bering Sea

Crabbers and Sue Doherty of Southeast Alaska Seiners association. UFA’s officers Jerry McCune (President), Matt Alward (Vice President), and Chad See (Secretary) were each re-elected to serve another one year term.

United Fishermen of Alaska is the statewide commercial fishing trade association, representing 34 Alaska commercial fishing organizations participating in fisheries throughout the state and adjacent offshore federal waters. More information is online at .