Press Release: UFA Names Bob Moss of Homer to AK Seafood Hall of Fame (November 14, 2011)

PDF Version

United Fishermen of Alaska named retired Homer Fisherman Bob Moss to the group’s Alaska Seafood Industry Hall of Fame. Moss was noted by the group for his efforts as a pioneer in Alaska fisheries for sixty years. He served on the Board of Fisheries, he was heavily involved in the Alaska statehood movement and efforts to organize fishermen to represent themselves in the fisheries management process. Moss addressed the UFA board, recounting his earliest fishing times and the importance of work outside the fishing seasons. “I am very humbled to be honored by UFA, and I thank you fishing folks who attend all the meetings, at the Board of Fisheries, North Pacific Council, and in your communities. The work at meetings makes the biggest difference in a successful fishing industry. Fishing is also about what happens before and after the fishing season,” said Moss.

Buck Laukitis, President of the Homer-based North Pacific Fisheries Association
nominated Moss at UFA’s Fall Board meeting in Homer last week. UFA established the Alaska Seafood Hall of Fame in 2009 to honor the 50th anniversary of Alaska Statehood. Previously named members include Bob Alverson, U.S. Senator Bob Bartlett, Bob Blake, The Brindle Family, Chuck Bundrant, Al Burch, Phil Daniel, Oscar Dyson, Senator Dick Eliason, Governor Ernest Gruening, Governor Jay Hammond, Gordon Jensen, Knute Johnson, Armin F. Koernig, Jerry McCune, Alaska State Representative Drew Scalzi, Alaska State Senator Clem Tillion, Tommy Thompson, and Bob Thorstenson Sr.

“These individuals each made lasting contributions that helped Alaska fishermen and
women continue our sustainable fisheries into the future. We look forward to recognizing
the many others that are helping ensure our sustainable fisheries for future generations,”
said Mark Vinsel, Executive Director of UFA.

2011-5 PR Bob Moss

Chris Moss, Bob Moss, and Al Burch at UFA meeting October 27 in Homer.