Over the weekend, many of you received email notification from SEAFA (below) that stated that vessels will be required to register their vessels with the DMV in accordance with newly amended Alaska Statute 05.25.055, a result of the passage of last year’s Derelict Vessel Bill.
United Fishermen of Alaska has been tracking this bill from its introduction and were told the intent was not to create more hurdles or fees for commercial fishermen. However, now that the bill is law, there seems to be several interpretations of this law and Department of Motor Vehicles, Alaska State Troopers, and Department of Administration are not on the same page regarding interpretation and enforcement of it. Making matters worse, there was little to no public notice that vessels would be required to register with the DMV.
UFA’s ask at the conception of this bill was that vessels that are currently registered and titled with CFEC be exempt from having to register with the DMV. Today I spoke with the Alaska Association of Harbormasters and Port Administrators who initiated this bill, and they agree that CFEC registration would be sufficient and fulfill their needs. HOWEVER- we still need to get everyone on the same page.
I have a call into Major Chastain with the Alaska State Troopers and hope to come to an understanding on how this law will be executed this year until we can get new language for a bill next year to clarify and amend the current law.
Where I cannot advise our fleet what to do at this time, I can assure you we are working diligently to come to a solution and as soon as we get more answers, I will let you know.
United Fishermen of Alaska
*******June 8 email from SEAFA*************
June 8, 2019
DEAR SEAFA MEMBERS,
IMPORTANT * PLEASE READ ALL THE WAY TO THE END * NEW LAW THAT AFFECTS YOU
January 1, 2019 a new law went into effect requiring State Vessel Registration. The law is from SB 92 Derelict Vessel Act passed in 2018 legislature.
This requires you to register your vessel with the State of Alaska even if you are a DOCUMENTED vessel. YOU MUST STILL RENEW YOUR COAST GUARD DOCUMENTATION. THIS REGISTRATION WILL BE IN ADDITION TO.
The fee is $24.00 for 3 years.
- Alaska Statute 05.25.055 was amended to require all boats not specifically exempted, including documented boats, barges, sport fishing guide boats, and tenders to be registered with the State of Alaska.
- YOU MUST REGISTER IN PERSON AT YOUR LOCAL DMV OFFICE
- The only exemptions for registration requirements are the following
The following are not considered boats and are not required to be registered:
- a ship’s lifeboat
- a seaplane
- an inspected passenger vessel; and
- single air mattress, single inner tube, or other water toy
- Non-powered boats – Unless a boat has an auxiliary power unit or is used as a sport fishing guide’s boat, non-powered boats are not required to be registered.
- Registered elsewhere – A boat with a valid registration from another state or country that is not operated more than 90 consecutive days in Alaska.
FORM FOR REGISTRATION
Don’t forget to renew your USCG Documentation – this registration does not take the place of your documentation from the USCG – it is in addition to.
DO NOT TITLE your boat with the State of Alaska – only file for registration.
Only place on your boat the square registration decal – do not place any additional AK numbers.
You will need to take a copy of your Document into the State DMV office when registering.
STATE WEBSITE WITH INFORMATION ON THIS NEW LAW