

## UNITED FISHERMEN OF ALASKA

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 20229, Juneau AK 99802-0229

Phone: (907) 586-2820

E-mail: ufa@ufa-fish.org Website: www.ufa-fish.org

March 4, 2024 For Immediate Release Tracy Welch, Executive Director (907) 586-2820

Juneau, Alaska – United Fishermen of Alaska Holds Spring Meeting and Elects Executive Committee

United Fishermen of Alaska (UFA) held its spring meeting in Juneau on February 20-22, 2024. This year's meeting focused on the current seafood crisis, and UFA heard multiple global and domestic seafood market updates as well as legislative updates from U.S. Senator Dan Sullivan, Congresswoman Mary Peltola, Senate President Gary Stevens, and House Fisheries Chair Representative Sarah Vance.

The board voted to strongly support continued state funding for the Alaska Seafood and Marketing Institute (ASMI), identified and endorsed nine state government actions to aid the seafood industry, and asked Senate President Stevens to work with the Speaker of the House to form a legislative seafood task force to help address challenges facing our industry.

UFA continues to be concerned with market conditions and the 2024 outlook for harvesters and processors alike. Representatives from Trident, BBRSDA and ASMI gave updates on current market activity for each Alaska seafood species, and special guests from Bank of America joined the meeting to discuss recent financing challenges facing the industry. ASMI's Chairman, Allen Kimball, also presented a market overview and led a Q&A session with UFA membership. The recording of the market overview with Mr. Kimball is posted to UFA's website.

UFA held its annual Executive Committee (EC) election and several new faces joined the EC for the upcoming year. Results of the election were as follows:

President: Matt Alward - North Pacific Fisheries Association/ Kodiak Seiners Association

**Vice-President**: Rebecca Skinner – Alaska Whitefish Trawlers Association **Secretary/Treasurer**: Bob Kehoe – Fishing Vessel Owners' Association

Admin: Chad See- Freezer Longline Coalition

At-Large: Kathy Hansen-Southeast Fishermen's Alliance

Environmental Committee: Richie Davis- Seafood Producers Cooperative

Enhancement Committee: Susan Doherty - Southern Southeast Aquaculture Assn. / Tina

Fairbanks- Kodiak Regional Aquaculture Assn.

Marketing Committee: Bruce Schactler – At-large Member

Membership/Fundraising Committee: Julianne Curry – Southeast Herring Conservation Alliance /

Michael "MJ" Jackson – At-Large Member

**National Committee**: Stephanie Madsen – At-Sea Processors Association / Chris Woodley – Groundfish Forum

**Statewide Committee**: Megan O'Neil / Nels Evens – Petersburg Vessel Owners Association **Subsistence Committee**: Mike Mickelson – Prince William Sound Aquaculture Association / Jerry McCune – At-Large Member